Three Years

Very rarely do I ever share any of my poetry.  Yet, I felt like sharing this.  Take it for what you will.

Three Years

His pale white chest
Strawberry red beard
Light washed jeans
Holes in the knees
Thinning fabric in the left thighHe pulled up my tee shirt
and then my panties down
Stopping at the knees
I laid scared on the couch
“You don’t need to be afraid.”

I looked around the house
It was silent as if we were the only two
The ocean rung in my ears
His hands grazed my legs
Fingers finding themselves to the flesh of my being

My eyes just closed
My breath caught in my lungs
Heart straining to be contained in it’s cage
Tears begging to escape
Three years of life dead inside of my body.

Leave a Reply

